top of page


Coaching Sessions

Player Development Guide

Coaching Tips

What is the Skill Acquisition Phase?

The skills Acquisition phase is one of the 4 building blocks with in the FFA’s football curriculum.| Your child will enter this phase at age 9 and will leave at age 13. At this stage young people are presented with a huge window of opportunity. ‘The Golden age of motor Development’ By taking the 4 core skills identified by the FFA and overloading them through training, players can fine tune these cognitive techniques and develop them to the autonomous stage of learning where execution becomes effortless and natural, in opposed situations.

The FFA’s 4 Core Skills

1. Striking the ball – This includes all forms of striking the ball such as short/long passing; shooting & crossing

2. First touch – Controlling the ball with all allowed body parts

3. 1 v 1 – All moves, feints and accelerations to get past and away from an opponent

4. Running with the ball At speed (with a lot of space) or ‘dribbling’ (in tight areas), this includes techniques for protecting the ball and changing direction.

The FFA Skill Acquisition Manual:A resource for youth coaches of players aged 9-12 years has been developed to reflect our shared football vision by giving. Click below.

Skill Acquisition Manual

Skill Acquisition Phase Sessions

bottom of page